Honey and Lemon Cold Remedy

I’d seen a few people mention this on the internet so I thought I’d make some myself, since I needed to do something with all the lemons we brought back from California (see Roses and Citrus) and I knew it wouldn’t be long before someone in the family needed it!

Our local health food store sells local honey in bulk – they have containers there, or you can bring along your own container and they will weigh it before and after you fill it so you just pay for the honey you pour into it. I had some empty Mason jars, so I cleaned one thoroughly before I took it to the store and filled it with honey. I also bought a small stem of ginger – about 2 inches long.

Once home, I cleaned a second jar and washed one of the lemons I had sitting in the fridge. Since the lemons are rather large I decided to use just one. I cut it in half, cut off the ends, cut each half into half again, picked out the seeds, and cut each lemon slice into eight pieces. I put the pieces from one half into the empty Mason jar.

Next, I peeled the ginger with a potato peeler, cutting off the ends and some of the knobby bits: then I grated half the ginger into the jar on top of the lemon. Finally I added about half the honey to the jar with the lemon and ginger and stirred it all up. I then added the other half of the lemon to the original honey jar, grated the rest of the ginger, and stirred it all up before putting both jars into the fridge.

IMG_2082

Not an hour later my daughter got home from school and announced she was getting a cold. Although internet posters had suggested letting the lemon and honey sit for 24 hours before using, we poured a mug of hot water and added about a dessert spoon of the honey to it. She sipped it rather warily at first, then drank it down and asked for another mug full!

To be honest, I cannot claim that the honey mix really cured her cold, but it certainly did seem to help stop it from developing into something major, and, judging by the number of cups she had (she even took some in a travel mug to school) she certainly thought it was helping, and sometimes I think that is half the battle!

I made another batch to send back to college with son when he came home last weekend. We’ve pretty much finished the first jar that I made, and now Bob is making his way through the second – we will see if this helps him at all.

Note: This post is written in response to the WordPress Daily Prompt “Teach Your (Bloggers) Well”

One thought on “Honey and Lemon Cold Remedy

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teach Your (Bloggers) Well | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

